The Municipality of Dharamshala is one of the oldest Municipalities. In 1849, Dharamshala was founded by Britishers and used as a cantonment for the troops; it was earmarked as the summer capital. In 1855 it was declared as the headquarter of Kangra District.  On 6 May 1867, the Municipality was established. On October 5, 2015 it was declared as a Municipal Corporation under the Himachal Pradesh Municipal Act 1994 by merging 9 adjacent villages.

The total area of Dharamshala Municipal Corporation is 27.6 Sq. Km with 17 wards. The total population of the city is 53543 with 10978 households.


The head of Dharamshala Municipal Corporation is the Commissioner who is appointed by the State Govt. He is assisted by Addl./Joint Commissioner who is also appointed by the State Govt. All the administrative and executive powers for the purpose of carrying out day to day functions are conferred on him. In addition to this, the works are assigned to different officers or DMC by the commissioner, DMC as per section 46 and 50 of HPMC Act 1994.


The elected body of Dharamshala Municipal Corporation has 20 Councilors. Out of which, 17 are directly elected and 3 are nominated by the Govt. of HP. The councilors were elected through direct election which was held in April 2016. Currently, Ku.RajniVyas is the Mayor and Sh. DevinderJaggi is the Deputy Mayor


Dharamshala has also been selected as a Smart City under Smart City Mission. Smart City program is one of the prestigious projects of the Government of India. Under this project, the government plans to develop 100 smart Cities. For more information visit http://smartcities.gov.in/dharamshalaSPV.aspx